World water congress

International Scientific Committee Chairs

IWRA has held a World Water Congress every three years since 1973 in all regions of the world.


A distinctive and fundamental piece for the success of this major international water events, was and continues to be the active role of the International Scientific Committees (ISC), particularly the designated chairs. The ISC Chairs/Co-Chairs have been overseeing all arrangements related to the scientific and technical content, namely:

  • Proposing the Congress themes and sub-themes agreed with co-hosts and IWRA Presidents
  • Preparing the calls for abstracts, special sessions and side events
  • Selecting papers for oral and poster presentations, as well as author/ presenter management
  • Determining the time schedule for the different technical sessions
  • Determining of the final programme of the congresses
  • Selecting the special sessions, plenary sessions and side-events (with the cooperation and assistance of IWRA and co-hosts)
  • Proposing keynote speakers (with the cooperation and assistance of IWRA and co-hosts)

The Association would, therefore, like to recognise and thank each one of the Chairs from the past World Water Congress for their efforts linking researchers and practitioners for nearly 50 years in order to provide a unique meeting place to share experiences, promote discussion, and to present new knowledge, research results and new developments in the field of water sciences around the world.  This helped, ultimately, towards the sustainable management and use of the world water resources, as well as the goals and objectives set on related international water and development agendas. 

Visit for more information and details about IWRA Congresses!

  • XVIII Congress (2023, People’s Republic of China): Renée Martin-Nagle & Qiuchi Shi

  • XVII Congress (2021 Daegu, South Korea):
    Gary Jones

  • XVI Congress (2017 Cancun, Mexico):
    Gabriel Eckstein

  • XV Congress (2015 Edinburgh, Scotland, UK): Cecilia Tortajada

  • XIV Congress (2011 Porto de Gallinhas, Brazil): Christopher Scott

  • XIII Congress: (2008 Montpellier, France):
    Olli Varis

  • XII Congress (2005 New Delhi, India):
    Olcay Unver

  • XI Congress (2003 Madrid, Spain):
    Ramón Llamas

  • X Congress (2000 Melbourne, Australia):
    John J. Pigram

  • IX Congress (1997 Montreal, Canada):
    Aly M. Shady

  • VIII Congress (1994 Cairo, Egypt):
    Mahmoud Abu-Zeid

  • VII Congress (1991 Rabat, Morocco):
    Asit K. Biswas

  • VI Congress (1988 Ottawa, Canada):
    Eric L. Schiller

  • V Congress (1985 Brussels, Belgium): 
    Victor Kosinsky 

  • IV Congress (1982 Buenos Aires, Argentina):
    Guillermo Cano

  • III Congress (1979 Mexico City, Mexico):
    Ven Te Chow

  • II Congress (1975 New Delhi, India):
    Ven Te Chow

  • I Congress (1973 Chicago, USA):
    Ven Te Chow


Stafford Rosenbaum LLP
222 West Washington Avenue, Suite 900
Madison, Wisconsin 53701-1784
United States of America

IWRA Executive Office​

21, rue de Madrid 75008
Paris, France
Phone: +33-6-44-20-57-53



Follow Us