Committees & Organisers

Local Organising Committee

Jon Rathjen Team Leader, Water Industry Team, Scottish Government
Professor Bob Ferrier Director of Research Impact,
The James Hutton Institute
Professor Gareth Pender FREng, FRSE Professor of Environmental Engineering
Heriot Watt University
Barbara Barbarito Business Strategy and Policy Manager
Scottish Water
John McAleese PhD Business Partnerships Manager, Research Strategy & Innovation Office, University of Glasgow
Dr Alistair Rieu-Clarke Reader in International Law, Dundee Centre for Water Law, Policy and Science (under the auspices of UNESCO), University of Dundee


International Scientific Committee (ISC) of the Congress:

CHAIR: Dr. Cecilia Tortajada, President of the Third World Centre for Water Management, Mexico


Mr. Jon Rathjen Team Leader, Water Industry Team, Scottish Government, Edinburgh, Scotland
Dr. Emmanuel M. Akpabio Lecturer, Department of Geography & Regional Planning, University of Uyo, Nigeria
Dr. Eugenio Barrios Director, Water Programme, WWF-Mexico
Dr. Marius Claassen Research Group Leader, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), Pretoria, South Africa
Dr. Anthony Cox Head of Division, Environment Directorate, OECD, Paris, France
Dr. David Brooks Associate, IISD’s Natural and Social Capital program, Canada
Prof. Gabriel Eckstein Professor of Law, Texas A&M University School of Law and Treasurer, IWRA
Dr. James Horne Principal, James Horne and Associates and Visiting Fellow, Australian National University
Dr. Elcin Kentel Associate Professor, Middle East Technical University, Ankara, Turkey
Prof. Lilian del Castillo-Laborde Professor, Buenos Aires University, Argentina
Dr. David Molden Director General, International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development, Kathmandu, Nepal
Prof. Mikiyasu Nakayama Head and Professor, Department of International Studies, Graduate School of Frontier Sciences, University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Prof. James Nickum Editor-in-Chief, Water International, Tokyo, Japan
Dr. Markus A. Palenberg Director, IFDS – Institute for Development Strategy, Munich, Germany
Prof. Gareth Pender Head of School, Environmental Engineering, Institute for Infrastructure and Environment, Heriot Watt University, Edinburgh, Scotland
Mr. Puah Aik Num Chief Specialist of Water Treatment, Public Utilities Board, Singapore
Dr. Ahmet Saatci President, Turkish Water Institute, Istanbul, Turkey
Prof. Christopher Scott Professor and Distinguished Scholar, University of Arizona, Tucson, USA; and Chair, XIV IWRA Congress (Recife, 2011)
Dr. Kai Wegerich Senior Researcher, International Water Management Institute, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Dr. Jun Xia Dean, Research Institute for Water Security (RIWS), Wuhan University, Wuhan, China
Prof. Jaeeung Yi Professor, Ajou University, Sowon, Korea


Congress Organiser

Wildwood House
Tel: +44 (0) 1738 828524 Fax: +44 (0) 1738 828419