## **XVI World Water Congress**

## **IWRA AWARDS CEREMONY**

## Thursday, 1<sup>st</sup> June 2017

## 15:30-17:00, Gran Cancun Room

- Introduction: James E. Nickum, as Chair of the Awards Committee
- **Presentation of Honorary Memberships** by Asit Biswas, Founding member and Past President of IWRA
- Presentation of the Best Papers Awards by James E. Nickum, as Editor-in-Chief, Water International
- **Presentation of the Crystal Drop Award** by Ben Braga, President of the World Water Council and Past President of IWRA
- Ven Te Chow Memorial Lecture by Prof. V.P. Singh :

"Challenges in meeting water security and resilience".

IWRA has offered the Ven Te Chow Memorial Award and Lecture since 1988 in the name of the great hydrologist who was also the Association's founder and first president. This year the award will go, fittingly, to one of the great internationally recognized water engineer-hydrologists of our era, Professor **V. P. Singh**, Distinguished Professor and Caroline and William N. Lehrer Distinguished Chair in Water Engineering at Texas A & M University. Prof. Singh has published nearly 900 journal articles; 25 textbooks; 57 edited books; and 104 book chapters in the area of hydrology and water resources. He has received more than 70 national and international awards, including the IWRA Crystal Drop in 2015. His work is on the cutting edge of innovative research. His lecture on "Challenges in meeting water security and resilience" is appropriately timely and critical.

• **Closing**: James E. Nickum, Chair of the Awards Committee