Crystal Drop Award

Crystal Drop awarded to individuals or organizations in recognition of their laudable contribution to the improvement of the world’s water situation. IWRA hopes that the award will encourage the recipient’s continued efforts and will also promote public awareness of the urgent need for cooperative efforts to manage the world’s water resources. The Crystal Drop Award is awarded once every three years and presented at the IWRA World Water Congress organized by IWRA.


The 2015 recipient of the Crystal Drop Award is Vijay J. Singh. He received this award during the XVth IWRA World Water Congress in Edinburgh, Scotland, UK.

Professor V.P. Singh is a Distinguished Professor and Caroline and William N. Lehrer Distinguished Chair in Water Engineering at Texas A & M University. He received his B.S., M.S., Ph.D. and D.Sc. degrees in engineering. He is a registered professional engineer, a registered professional hydrologist, and an Honorary diplomate of ASCE-AAWRE. He has published more than 780 journal articles; 24 textbooks; 55 edited reference books; 80 book chapters; and 303 conference papers in the area of hydrology and water resources. He has received more than 70 national and international awards, including Arid Lands Hydraulic Engineering Award, Chow Award, Torrens Award, Norman Medal, and EWRI Lifetime Achievement Award, from ASCE; Linsley Award and Founder’s Award, from AIH; and three honorary doctorates. He is a Distinguished Member of ASCE, and a fellow EWRI, AWRA, IWRS, ISAE, IASWC and IE and a member of 10 international engineering academies. He has served as President of the American Institute of Hydrology (AIH).



2011: International Water Management Institute (IWMI)

2008: Mahmoud Abu-Zeid

2005: Malin Falkenmark

2003: Benedito Braga

2000: Yutaka Takahasi

1997: Rotary International

1994: Asit K. Biswas

1991: Yahia Abdel Mageed

1988: UNEP and its Executive Director Dr. Mostafa Kamal (joint award)

1985: UNICEF

2011 - International Water Resources Association (IWRA) - - Admin