IWRA’s XVII World Water Congress

Foundations for Global Water Security and Resilience:

Knowledge, Technology and Policy

Governance and Committees

Home > IWRA’s XVII World Water Congress > Governance and Committees

The International Scientific Committee (ISC)


    • Adj. Prof. Gary JONES Australia Adjunct Professor with the University of Canberra, Institute of Applied Ecology; Chair of the IWRA Membership Committee

Deputy Chair

    • Prof. Dongil SEO Professor of Dept. of Environmental Engineering, Chungnam National University


    • Prof. Henning BJORNLUND Australia/Denmark Research Professor of Water Management and Policy; Chair of the IWRA Scientific, Technical & Publications Committee
    • Prof. Kun Yeun HAN Korea Professor of Kyungpook National University
    • Prof. Blanca JIMÉNEZ CISNEROS Mexico Director-General, National Water Commission of Mexico (CONAGUA)
    • Dr. No Hyuk PARK Korea Chief Research Officer of K-water Research Institute
    • Dr. Youssef Filali-Meknassi Morocco Director of the Division of Water Sciences at UNESCO
    • Mr. Haeyong JUNG Korea Vice Mayor for Economic Affairs of Daegu Metropolitan City


    • Dr. Victor Hugo ALCOCER YAMANAKA Mexico Technical Deputy Director General Of CONAGUNA
    • Dr. Brenda BATEMAN USA Technical Services Division Administrator for the Oregon Water Resources Department
    • Prof. Kwang-Ho CHOO Korea Professor in the Department of Environmental Engineering, Kyungpook National University
    • Mr. Jean-François DONZIER France General Secretary at International Network of Basin Organisations; Secretary General of Global Alliances for Water & Climate
    • Ms. Danielle GAILLARD-PICHER USA/France Global Coordinator, Water and Climate Processes, Global Water Partnership
    • Prof. Jun-Haeng HEO Korea Chair of the National Organising Committee (NOC) ; Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Yonsei Univ.
    • Prof. Kazumasa ITO Japan Head of Engineering, International Division, CTI; Engineering Visiting professor at Tokyo City University
    • Dr. Torkil JØNCH CLAUSEN Denmark Chair of the Scientific Programme of the World Water Week in Stockholm; Governor of the World Water Council
    • Prof. DEGHYO BAE Korea President of Korea Water Resources Association (KWRA); Professor in the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering at Sejong University
    • Prof. Kyung Soo JUN Korea Professor in the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering at Sungkyunkwan University
    • Prof. Tae Yong JUNG Korea Professor of Sustainable Development at Yonsei University Graduate School of International Studies (GSIS)
    • Prof. Jinyoung JUNG Korea Associate Professor at Yeungnam University
    • Prof. Seong Joon KIM Korea Director at Korean Society of Agricultural Engineers; Professor at Konkuk University
    • Dr. Karin KRCHNAK USA/Slovakia Program Manager, 2030 Water Resources Group at World Bank Group
    • Prof. Soontak LEE Korea Distinguished Professor of Hydrology and Water Resources Engineering; President of International Hydrologic Environmental Society
    • Prof. Yuanyuan LI China Vice-President of the General Institute of Water Resources & Hydropower Planning & Design; IWRA Vice-President
    • Ms. Jae Lim LIM Korea Head Researcher at K-water Water Resources Cooperation
    • Dr. Bindu LOHANI Nepal Distinguished Fellow, Emerging Markets Forum; Head of Global Climate Change Practice at Centennial Group
    • Mr. Takashi Fukuwatari Japan Deputy Secretary General of Japan Water Forum
    • Dr. Somkiat PRAJAMWONG Thailand Director-General of the National Water Resources Office
    • Dr. Götz REICHERT Germany Head of the Department on Environment, Energy, Climate and Transport at the Center for European Policy
    • Ms. Adelina (Lennie) SANTOS-BORJA Philippines Department Manager III - Resource Management and Development Department Laguna Lake Development Authority
    • Prof. Abdoulaye SENE Senegal Co-Chair of the International Steering Committee of the 9th World Water Forum
    • Dr. Vladimir SMAKHTIN Russia/Canada Director of the United Nations University Institute for Water Environment and Health (UNU-INWEH)
    • Dr. Cecilia TORTAJADA Mexico/Wales University of Glasgow
    • Prof. Chieko UMETSU Japan Professor at the Graduate School of Agriculture, Kyoto University
    • Prof. Maria DONOSO Panama Professor of Florida International University