Ven Te Chow Memorial Lecture Award

The Ven Te Chow Memorial Lecture is one of the most prestigious awards of the IWRA which has been named after Prof. Ven Te Chow (1919-1981),  First President of IWRA. Dr. Ven Te Chow was an eminent water scientist and a leading figure in water resources in the second half of the 20th Century.

The Ven Te Chow Memorial Award has been instituted by the IWRA in his memory, to be delivered at its triennial World Water Congresses.


The 2015 recipient of the Ven Te Chow Memorial Award is Rabi Mohtar. He delivered his lecture during the XVth IWRA World Water Congress in Edinburgh, Scotland, UK.


Rabi Mohtar is a TEES Endowed Professor at Texas A&M University, Founding Executive Director of the Qatar Environment and Energy Research Institute (QEERI), member of the Qatar Foundation Research and Development and inaugural Director of the Global Engineering Programs, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana. Mohtar’s research addresses global resource challenges: development of the Water-Energy-Food Nexus framework linking science to policy; characterisation of the soil-water medium using thermodynamic modeling; efficacy of non-traditional water using physical-based methodologies; and applications for sustainable, integrated water management. Distinguished Alumni of the American University of Beirut (2014) and recipient of the Kishida International Award (2010), Mohtar serves on the World Economic Forum Global Agenda Councils on Water Security and Climate Change (2009-2014), and board of governors of the World Water Council (2012-present) [].  



2011: Peter H. Gleick

2008: John Pigram

2005: Benedito Braga

2003: Asit K. Biswas

2000: Janusz Kindler

1997: Glenn E. Stout

1996: Ben Chie Yen

1994: Andras Szollosi-Nagy

1991: Malin Falkenmark

1988: Vujica M. Yevjevich



2011 IWRA - International Water Resources Association - - Admin